This is why my tv isn’t plugged in.


Iztac Metztli

This is why my tv isn’t plugged in
because I can’t bear to watch the news
and think that maybe I’ll see a face that I knew,
A face that I knew…
I pray to myself, beg,
“Please, god don’t let be one of my kids.”
every time I hear of a shooting or some type of violence.
“Please, god don’t let it be one of my kids.”
But the truth is,
the one who pulled the trigger is my kid,
the one lying face down in the park is my kid,
the one behind bars is my kid,
They’re all my kids
and THIS is why my tv isn’t plugged in
Because we can organize multitudes for marathons
and shutdowns
but we can’t seem to find the time to
identify the crime and the real crime is,
A lack of social justice, a lack of resources,
the fact that…

View original post 148 more words

About https://poetbblog.wordpress.com

I love my guitar, poetry, reading, writing, living life on the edge, Don't worry their no strangers here just strange people, Be sure to let me know you stop bye and let your hair down. Grab some coffee and hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is why my tv isn’t plugged in.

  1. Heartafire says:

    evocative stirring poetry, beautiful recital.

  2. Hola buenos días.
    Agradecida por seguir mi blog.
    Que disfrutes de una bella jornada.

Leave a Reply

